Published Thursday, January 31, 2013 AT 1:31 PM / Updated at 1:31 PM
CU’s McDermott on Oscar Robertson Trophy watch list
Bluejays Today Omaha World-Herald

ST. LOUIS — Creighton junior Doug McDermott is one of 12 players selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association for its 2013 Oscar Robertson Trophy midseason watch list. The award is to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

Teammates from Indiana and Kansas headline the watch list that includes four Big Ten players. Indiana’s Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller are joined by fellow Big Ten standouts Trey Burke of Michigan and Deshaun Thomas of Ohio State. The pair of Jayhawks named to the list are Ben McLemore and Jeff Withey. Michael Carter-Williams of Syracuse, Russ Smith of Louisville, Duke’s Mason Plumlee, UNLV’s Anthony Bennett and Gonzaga’s Kelly Olynyk were also recognized. The list features two seniors, five juniors, three sophomores and two freshmen appearing.

McDermott leads the nation with 526 points and 182 field goals and is second with 23.9 points per game. He’s shooting 56.3 percent from the field, including 51.6 percent from three-point range, and also makes 86.3 percent of his free throws for a team that is 19-3 and has been ranked in the top-25 of every poll this season. McDermott was a finalist for the Oscar Robertson Award last season as well and was recognized by the USBWA as a First Team All-American.

About Bluejays Today

The World-Herald sports desk. Contact the sports desk at 402-444-1201 or