Published Friday, February 1, 2013 AT 8:34 PM / Updated at 8:34 PM
Nebraska football’s Super streak
Big Red Today Omaha World-Herald

Dan Apple, assistant director of communications for Florida’s football program, provides this list of former Huskers in the Super Bowl the past 20 years. Nebraska’s 20-year string is the longest in the country. Tied for second are Purdue and Notre Dame with 14-year streaks.

Huskers on Super Bowl teams the past 20 years:

1994 (Buffalo-Dallas): Nate Turner, Bills.
1995 (San Diego-San Francisco): John Parrella, Chargers.
1996 (Dallas-Pittsburgh): Brenden Stai and Donta Jones, Steelers.
1997 (Green Bay-New England): Tyrone Williams and Calvin Jones, Packers.
1998 (Denver-Green Bay): Tony Veland and Neil Smith, Broncos; Tyrone Williams, Packers.
1999 (Atlanta-Denver): Michael Booker, Falcons; Neil Smith, Broncos.
2000 (Tennessee-St. Louis): Doug Colman, Titans; Grant Wistrom, Rams.
2001 (Baltimore-New York Giants): Christian Peter, Giants.
2002 (New England-St. Louis): Grant Wistrom, Rams.
2003 (Oakland-Tampa Bay): Adam Treu, Eric Johnson and John Parrella, Raiders.
2004 (Carolina-New England): Mike Minter and Mike Rucker, Panthers; Russ Hochstein, Patriots.
2005 (New England-Philadelphia): Russ Hochstein, Patriots.
2006 (Pittsburgh-Seattle): Josh Brown and Grant Wistrom, Seahawks.
2007 (Chicago-Indianapolis): Mike Brown, Bears.
2008 (New England-New York Giants): Russ Hochstein and Le Kevin Smith, Patriots.
2009 (Arizona-Pittsburgh): Ralph Brown, Cardinals.
2010 (Indianapolis-New Orleans): Cody Glenn, Colts; Carl Nicks and Scott Shanle, Saints.
2011 (Green Bay-Pittsburgh): Brandon Jackson, Packers.
2012 (New England-New York Giants): Prince Amukamara, Giants.
2013 (Baltimore-San Francisco): Sam Koch, Ravens.

About Big Red Today

The World-Herald sports desk. Contact the sports desk at 402-444-1201 or