Published Saturday, February 23, 2013 AT 10:25 PM / Updated at 10:25 PM
List: 10 memorable high school games at Devaney
Stu Pospisil Omaha World-Herald

>> 1. Wahoo 68, Lincoln Pius X 66, overtime, 1989 Class B final: The most-remembered high school game at Devaney. Wahoo, with no timeouts remaining, needed two 3-pointers to force overtime. Bernie Inbody hit the first, a 30-foot bomb, with 11 seconds left. Inbody then stole the inbounds pass near midcourt and fired a pass to Troy Glock. He turned to face the basket and fired up the tying 28-footer that bounded off the backboard before falling in. The crowd erupted in what officials called one of the loudest roars in tournament history.

>> 2. Ogallala 84, Wahoo 68, 1992 Class B semifinals: The end of Wahoo’s state-record 114-game winning streak. Ogallala, getting 30 points from Chad Spady, took the lead early in the first quarter, extended it to 19 points in the second quarter and then never had it shrink below nine.

>> 3. Millard South 47, Columbus 45, 1989 Class A final: Matt Kelly’s tie-breaking layup with 3 seconds left finished off the first undefeated season in Class A since 1960 in the game that followed Wahoo-Pius X.

>> 4. Omaha Benson 95, Hastings 75, 1992 Class A final: Andre Woolridge’s last prep game was his best, scoring a Class A tournament-record 50 points, as the then-future Husker became Class A’s career scoring leader with 1,911 points and ended a 72-year title drought for his school.

>> 5. Norfolk 62, Lincoln Northeast 61, 1987 Class A final: Chris Price sent an estimated 6,000 Norfolk backers into hysteria by swishing a 24-footer from deep in the left corner with five seconds left for a 62-61 win over Lincoln Northeast for the Panthers’ first state title.

>> 6. Omaha Central 58, Omaha Marian 57, 1984 Class A girls final: Jessica Haynes took a defensive rebound coast-to-coast and beat the buzzer with a finger-roll layup to complete an 11-point comeback for the defending champion and let Central finish undefeated for the second consecutive season.

>> 7. Omaha Central 93, Bellevue West 85, overtime, 2007 Class A final: Three starters fouled out and star Josh Jones, who had 28 points, joined them just four seconds into overtime, but Central’s bench came through in a repeat of the 2006 Class A final. West was the first in Class A to lose back-to-back overtime finals despite Antoine Young’s 39 points.

>> 8. Omaha Burke 73, Columbus 60, 1976 Class A first round: It was the first game in the new arena, which was so new there were no floor bleachers or an official name for the building. Mike Bruce outjumped Dan Pensick of Columbus for the opening tip.

>> 9. Ogallala girls 69, South Sioux City 58, 1999 Class B girls final: South Sioux City won 10 titles in 11 seasons, but this was the blemish on its record. The Cardinals were 10th in the national rankings, but undefeated Ogallala got them in early foul trouble while Lindsay Coleman and Amanda Buchholz were combining for 51 points.

>> 10. Fremont Bergan 56, Humphrey St. Francis 43, 2008 Class D-1 final: Colorado State recruit Wes Eikmeier matched St. Francis’ output by making 16 of 22 shots, including 6 of 11 3-pointers, for a D-1 tournament-record 43 points.

About Stu Pospisil

Stu Pospisil has been The World-Herald's lead writer for high school sports since 1990 and for golf since 1988. He primarily covers football in the fall, basketball and wrestling in the winter and track and field in the spring. You can follow Stu on Twitter (@StuOWH) or email him at