Published Tuesday, February 26, 2013 AT 1:46 PM / Updated at 2:25 PM
Doug McDermott named to latest Naismith Award list
Bluejays Today Omaha World-Herald

Creighton forward Doug McDermott is one of 30 candidates for the 2013 Naismith men’s college player of the year award presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday. Kansas (Ben McLemore, Jeff Withey), Duke (Seth Curry, Mason Plumlee) and Indiana (Victor Oladipo, Cody Zeller) all have two candidates on the top 30 list.

McDermott, a 2012 Naismith Trophy finalist, is averaging 22.4 points and 7.6 rebounds per game while shooting 54.2 percent from the field, 48.0 percent from 3-point range and 85.5 percent at the free-throw line. Creighton is 22-7 on the season heading into Wednesday’s game at Bradley.

The top 30 candidates were selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors based on player performances to this point in the 2013 men’s college basketball season. In late March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow down the list to four finalists, with the trophy awarded April 7 in Atlanta.

Top 30 Candidates for the 2013 Naismith Men’s Player of the Year Award:
Anthony Bennett, Freshman, F, UNLV
Jared Berggren, Senior, F, Wisconsin
Trey Burke, Sophomore, G, Michigan
Isaiah Canaan, Senior, G, Murray State
Michael Carter-Williams, Sophomore, G, Syracuse
Ian Clark, Senior, G, Belmont
Rotnei Clarke, Senior, G, Butler
Jack Cooley, Senior, C, Notre Dame
Allen Crabbe, Junior, G, California
Seth Curry, Senior, G, Duke
Matthew Dellavedova, Senior, G, Saint Mary’s
Jamaal Franklin, Junior, G, San Diego State
Sean Kilpatrick, Junior, F, Cincinnati
Shane Larkin, Sophomore, G, Miami
Doug McDermott, Junior, F, Creighton
Rodney McGruder, Senior, G, Kansas State
Ben McLemore, Freshman, G, Kansas
Shabazz Muhammad, Freshman, G, UCLA
Mike Muscala, Senior, C, Bucknell
Victor Oladipo, Junior, G, Indiana
Kelly Olynyk, Senior, C, Gonzaga
Brandon Paul, Senior, G, Illinois
Mason Plumlee, Senior, F, Duke
Otto Porter Jr., Sophomore, F, Georgetown
Marcus Smart, Freshman, G, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Junior, G, Louisville
DeShaun Thomas, Senior, F, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Senior, C, Kansas
Nate Wolters, Senior, G, South Dakota State
Cody Zeller, Sophomore, F, Indiana

About Bluejays Today

The World-Herald sports desk. Contact the sports desk at 402-444-1201 or