Published Thursday, April 18, 2013 AT 12:15 AM / Updated at 12:32 AM
Western Iowa prep sports roundup, April 18
Nebraska Prep Zone Omaha World-Herald

Ram Coed Relays
>> When, where: 5 p.m. Monday, Glenwood.
>> Teams entered: Atlantic, CB Abraham Lincoln, CB Lewis Central, CB St. Albert, CB Thomas Jefferson, Glenwood, Harlan, Shenandoah.

>> Girls soccer: CB Lewis Central at CB St. Albert, 6 p.m. Thursday at the Y fields, Council Bluffs. Lewis Central is rated seventh in the state in Class 2-A by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union, and St. Albert is third in Class 1-A.
>> Girls tennis: Atlantic Invitational, 9 a.m. Saturday at Harlan. Due to renovations at the Atlantic courts, the tournament has been moved. Teams entered include Atlantic, Audubon, CB Abraham Lincoln, CB Lewis Central, Clarinda, Des Moines Lincoln and Harlan.
>> Boys golf: Monarch Invitational, 8:30 a.m. Saturday at Majestic Hills Golf Course in Denison. Teams entered include Atlantic, Boyer Valley, Carroll, Carroll Kuemper, Denison-Schleswig, Harlan, Shenandoah and Storm Lake.

Three Sioux City Heelan athletes signed Division I volleyball scholarships on Wednesday. Lauren Brobst signed with Iowa, and Megan McCarthy and Katelyn Poss signed with South Dakota. The 6-foot-1 Brobst hit .312 last year and averaged 2.60 kills and 0.9 blocks. The 5-11 McCarthy hit .238 led the Crusaders with 79 aces. The 5-6 Poss led Heelan with 4.35 digs per set. Iowa finished 10-23 last year, and South Dakota was 14-14.

The latest state rankings by the Iowa High School Soccer Coaches Association:
1, Cedar Rapids Prairie; 2, Cedar Rapids Kennedy; 3, WDM Dowling; 4, Iowa City High; 5, Cedar Rapids Washington; 6, Iowa City West; 7, Johnston; 8, Bettendorf; 9, Pleasant Valley; 10, Ames; 11, WDM Valley; 12, Linn-Mar; 13, Ankeny; 14, Muscatine; 15, Urbandale; 16, Sioux City West.
1, Dubuque Wahlert; 2, Cedar Rapids Xavier; 3, Spencer; 4, Norwalk; 5, Webster City; 6, Newton; 7, Hudson; 8, ADM; 9, Pella; 10, Solon; 11, Glenwood; 12, Storm Lake; 13, Spirit Lake; 14, Clear Creek-Amana; 15, Mount Pleasant; 16, Perry.
1, Dyersville Beckman; 2, Iowa City Regina; 3, Waterloo Columbus; 4, (tie) CB St. Albert and Center Point-Urbana; 6, Nevada; 7, Fort Madison Holy Trinity; 8, Davenport Assumption; 9, Iowa Mennonite; 10, West Liberty; 11, North Polk; 12, Underwood; 13, Gladbrook-Reinbeck; 14, West Central Valley; 15, MOC-Floyd Valley; 16, Albia.

Twenty-seven officials from The World-Herald’s western Iowa coverage area are among the 178 who will be honored at the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s 19th-annual Officials’ Banquet and Recognition Ceremony on Saturday, April 27, at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines. Here are the WI honorees:
15-Year Recognition
Tom Berens, Treynor; Kevin Garrett, Atlanti; Phillip Hascall, Atlantic; David Huff, Greenfield; Tom Kealy, Council Bluffs; Douglas Maher, Stanton; Mark Markham, Atlantic; Tom McLaren, Atlantic; Michael Ruhnke, Carroll; Bruce Schenck, Glenwood; Darren Tooley, Sergeant Bluff; David Treft, Sioux City; Tom Woodin, Farragut.
25-Year Recognition
Doyle Engelen, Templeton; Robert Linde, Glidden; Mark Ragaller, Vail; Bruce Thomas, Missouri Valley.
35-Year Recognition
Tim Well, Westside; Jim Christensen, Fontanelle; C. Leroy Dukes, Bedford; Jim Molitor, Carroll; Dale Reinke, Manning; John Walsh, Vail; John Walters, Creston.
Aspiring New Official Award
Kevin Cabbage, Stanton
NFOA State Official of the Year
Wrestling: Tom Moore, Griswold
Baseball: Bob Sweeney, Atlantic

>> E-mail:
>> Fax: 402-444-1238
>> Mail: 1314 Douglas St., Suite 700, Omaha, NE 68102
>> Phone: 800-284-6397 or 402-444-1055

About Nebraska Prep Zone

The World-Herald sports desk. Contact the sports desk at 402-444-1201 or