Published Thursday, May 30, 2013 AT 12:15 PM / Updated at 12:15 PM
Big Ten honors Burkhead, Wong for sportsmanship
Big Red Today Omaha World-Herald

Nebraska student-athletes Rex Burkhead and Emily Wong were honored by the Big Ten on Thursday, two of 24 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2012-13 academic year. Burkhead and Wong were chosen from a group of more than 300 student-athletes throughout the academic year who have displayed positive sportsmanship.

Burkhead was a four-year performer at running back for the Husker football team and was recently drafted by the Cincinnati Bengals. As a Husker, he finished his career as one the top five all-time rushers in Nebraska school history with 3,329 yards while also rushing for 30 career touchdowns. As a senior, Burkhead rushed for 685 yards and five touchdowns in eight games, highlighted by a season-best 140 yards in the Capital One Bowl against Georgia. Off the field, he named a two-time CoSIDA First-Team Academic All-American (2012-12) and was chosen the captain of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team in 2012.

Wong is a junior gymnast for the Huskers and finished third at the 2013 NCAA Championships in both the all-around and on floor exercise. She earned four All-America certificates at the 2013 NCAAs and won four of five individual titles at the 2013 Big Ten women’s gymnastics championships. A two-time Big Ten all-around champion, Wong ranks fourth in school history with eight All-America honors. In the classroom, she was a first-team Academic All-District VII member and is a candidate for CoSIDA Academic All-America honors.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

2013 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners
Illinois Bruno Abdelnour, Tennis; Amber Moore, Basketball

Indiana Michael Basil, Baseball; Leslie Hureau, Tennis

Iowa Eric May, Basketball; Mareike Schrulle, Cross Country

Michigan Jordan Kovacs, Football; Claire McElheny, Volleyball

Michigan State Adreian Payne, Basketball; Caroline Powers, Golf

Minnesota Andre Hollins, Basketball; Allie Phillips, Soccer

Nebraska Rex Burkhead, Football; Emily Wong, Gymnastics

Northwestern Charlie Rimkus, Swimming & Diving; Kate Popovec, Basketball

Ohio State Trey Wilkes, Lacrosse; Melissa Rennie, Softball

Penn State Nick Colella, Basketball; Gizelle Studevent, Basketball

Purdue Jakob Engel, Track & Field; Courtney Moses, Basketball

Wisconsin Jared Berggren, Basketball; Lindsay Danielson, Golf

About Big Red Today

The World-Herald sports desk. Contact the sports desk at 402-444-1201 or