Published Thursday, August 22, 2013 AT 12:22 AM / Updated at 12:22 AM
Cox Classic: The Basics
Stu Pospisil Omaha World-Herald


Where: Champions Run, southwest of 132nd Street and West Maple Road; par 71 over 7,161 yards
Tickets: Daily admission, $10 for grounds, $20 for clubhouse
Prize money: $800,000 (winner receives $117,000)
Street closing: Eagle Run Drive will be closed to traffic. Only those with VIP parking passes, tournament credentials or residential-members passes will be allowed access.
TV: Live on the Golf Channel 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Thursday and Friday; 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Sunday
Parking: Available at Tranquility Soccer Complex (free parking every day, $3 shuttle charge on weekend)
Nightlife: Entertainment in the on-site 19th Hole tent ($5 cover nightly) is Cactus Hill, 8 p.m. Thursday; Groove Puppet and deejay Shif-D, 8 p.m. Friday; Lemon Fresh Day and deejay J.A.B., 8 p.m. Saturday (Jason Earl Band plays from 4 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., no cover). Tent is open all day throughout the tournament. Closing time is 1 a.m.
Fireworks show: Starts at 10 p.m. Saturday from the north end of the practice range


Tickets: Must be displayed at all times. Display prominently, using a safety pin or rubber band.
Allowed: Lawn chairs. Cellphones, pagers and other electronic devices are allowed if the ringer is turned off and the device set to vibrate. Spectators can’t take photos or talk on the devices on the course during play. Abuse of the policy will result in the confiscation of the device.
Not allowed: Coolers.
Other spectator etiquette: Kneel or sit when in front of a large gallery. Applaud good shots. Respect the golfers by being quiet and not moving while they swing. Respect volunteers and fellow spectators and obey marshals’ orders. Talk in low voices around the course, including in skyboxes and viewing boxes.


Cameron Beckman
2001 Southern Farm Bureau, 2010 Mayakoba
Matt Bettencourt
2010 Reno-Tahoe Open
Guy Boros
1996 Vancouver Open
Daniel Chopra
2007 Ginn sur Mer, 2008 Mercedes
Joe Durant
1998 Western Open. 2001 Bob Hope Chrysler, Genuity. 2006 Funai
Jason Gore
2005 84 Lumber
David Gossett
2001 John Deere
Todd Hamilton
2004 Honda, British Open
Ryuji Imada
2008 AT&T Classic
Lee Janzen
1992 Northern Telecom. 1993 Phoenix, U.S. Open. 1994 Buick Classic. 1995 Players, Kemper Open, International. 1998 U.S. Open
Richard S. Johnson
2008 U.S. Bank
Peter Lonard
2005 MCI Heritage
Len Mattiace
2002 Nissan, 2002 St. Jude
Rod Pampling
2004 International, 2006 Bay Hill
Tim Petrovic
2005 Zurich
Wes Short Jr.
2005 Michelin
Chris Smith
2002 Buick Classic
Brett Wetterich
2006 EDS Byron Nelson


1996: Rocky Walcher
1997: Chris Smith
1998: Matt Gogel
1999: Mathew Goggin
2000: David Berganio Jr.
2001: Heath Slocum
2002: Jay Delsing
2003: Bo Van Pelt
2004: Charles Warren
2005: Jason Gore
2006: Johnson Wagner
2007: Roland Thatcher
2008: Ryan Hietala
2009: Rich Barcelo
2010: Martin Piller
2011: J.J. Killeen
2012: Ben Kohles
Bold: In 2013 field

About Stu Pospisil

Stu Pospisil has been The World-Herald's lead writer for high school sports since 1990 and for golf since 1988. He primarily covers football in the fall, basketball and wrestling in the winter and track and field in the spring. You can follow Stu on Twitter (@StuOWH) or email him at