Published Thursday, November 21, 2013 AT 12:31 PM / Updated at 12:31 PM
Doug McDermott named to Naismith Trophy preseason watch list
Big Red Today Omaha World-Herald

Creighton forward Doug McDermott was named to the 2013-14 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list, the Atlanta Tip-Off Club announced Thursday.

The Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year award is presented annually to the nation’s top player. The honor was first awarded in 1969.

McDermott, the nation’s only returning first team All-American and a two-time finalist for the Naismith award, was among 50 players on the list compiled by the board of selectors, a group of journalists, coaches and administrators.

One other Big East player — Xavier guard Semaj Christon — made the list.

The complete preseason watch list:

Name, Class, Position, School, Conference
Jordan Adams, So., G, UCLA, Pac-12
Kyle Anderson, So., G-F, UCLA, Pac-12
Isaiah Austin, So., C, Baylor, Big 12
Jerrelle Benimon, Sr., F, Towson, Colonial Athletic
Jahii Carson, So., G, Arizona State, Pac-12
Semaj Christon, So., G, Xavier, Big East
Aaron Craft, Sr., G, Ohio State, Big Ten
Sam Dekker, So., F, Wisconsin, Big Ten
Spencer Dinwiddie, Jr., G, Colorado, Pac-12
Cleanthony Early, Sr., F, Wichita State, Missouri Valley
Perry Ellis, So., F, Kansas, Big 12
C.J. Fair, Sr., F, Syracuse, ACC
Yogi Ferrell, So., G, Indiana, Big Ten
Aaron Gordon, Fr., F, Arizona, Pac-12
Treveon Graham, Jr., G, VCU, Atlantic 10
Jerian Grant, Sr., G, Notre Dame, ACC
Montrezl Harrell, So., F, Louisville, American Athletic
Gary Harris, So., G, Michigan State, Big Ten
Joe Harris, Sr., G, Virginia, ACC
Andrew Harrison, Fr., G, Kentucky, SEC
Tyler Haws, Jr., G, BYU, West Coast
Marshall Henderson, Sr., G, Ole Miss, SEC
Rodney Hood, So., F, Duke, ACC
Joe Jackson, Sr., G, Memphis, American Athletic
Cory Jefferson, Sr., F, Baylor, Big 12
Sean Kilpatrick, Sr., G, Cincinnati, American Athletic
Alex Kirk, Jr., C, New Mexico, Mountain West
» Doug McDermott, Sr., F, Creighton, Big East
Mitch McGary, So., F, Michigan, Big Ten
Jordan McRae, Sr., G, Tennessee, SEC
James Michael McAdoo, Jr., F, North Carolina, ACC
Shabazz Napier, Sr., G, UConn, American Athletic
Johnny O’Bryant III, Jr., F, LSU, SEC
Kevin Pangos, Jr., G, Gonzaga, West Coast
Jabari Parker, Fr., F, Duke, ACC
Adreian Payne, Sr., C, Michigan State, Big Ten
Julius Randle, Fr., F, Kentucky, SEC
Juvonte Reddic, Sr., F, VCU, Atlantic 10
Glenn Robinson III, So., F, Michigan, Big Ten
LaQuinton Ross, Jr., F, Ohio State, Big Ten
Wayne Selden, Jr., Fr., G, Kansas, Big 12
Marcus Smart, So., G, Oklahoma State, Big 12
Russ Smith, Sr., G, Louisville, American Athletic
Jarnell Stokes, Jr., F, Tennessee, SEC
Rasheed Sulaimon, So., G, Duke, ACC
Noah Vonleh, Fr., F, Indiana, Big Ten
Andrew Wiggins, Fr., G, Kansas, Big 12
Kendall Williams, Sr., G, New Mexico, Mountain West
Chaz Williams, Sr., G, UMass, Atlantic 10
James Young, Fr., G, Kentucky, SEC