Published Wednesday, January 22, 2014 AT 8:10 PM / Updated at 1:05 AM
Western Iowa prep sports roundup
Kevin White Omaha World-Herald

Event of the week
59th annual John J. Harris
Wrestling Tournament
When: 4 p.m. Friday; 10 a.m. Saturday
Where: Corning Activity Center
Admission: Friday: $5 adults, $4 students. Saturday: $6 adults, $5 students.
Schools entered: Atlantic, Bedford/Lenox, Central Decatur, Chariton, Clarinda, Clarke, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Creston, East Mills, Griswold, New Hampton, Missouri Valley, Mount Ayr, Nodaway Valley, Panorama, Red Oak, Riverside, Shenandoah, Southwest Iowa, Southwest Valley, Tri-Center, Wayne, Winterset.
Last year: Creston/Orient-Macksburg (222.5 points) breezed to the team title over Clarinda (140), Chariton (108.5) and Tri-Center (108).

Boys basketball: Corner Conference tournament semifinals at Sidney. East Mills (1) vs. Fremont-Mills (4) at 6, followed by Sidney (2) and CB Heartland Christian (3) at about 7:30.
Girls basketball: Corner Conference tournament consolation and finals at Tabor. Stanton/East Mills and Fremont-Mills/CB Heartland Christian semifinal losers play at 6, with the winners meeting at about 7:30.

Burmeister honored
The National Federation of State High School Coaches Association has named Nodaway Valley’s Darrell Burmeister as its 2013 Central sectional coach of the year in boys basketball. The Central sectional includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan and Wisconsin. Burmeister also was a finalist for national coach of the year.

Baseball awards
The Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association handed out its awards at its recent banquet in Cedar Rapids, and several western Iowans were recipients:
District coaches of the year
Class 4-A
West District: Jared Ocker, Sioux City East.
Class 3-A
West District: Andy Osborne, Sioux City Heelan.
Class 2-A
Southwest District: Randy Snyder, Carroll Kuemper.
Assistant coach of the year
West District: Mark Feilmeier, Carroll Kuemper.
500-Win club
Steve Daeges, Harlan.
200-Win Club
Andy Osborne, Sioux City Heelan; Jared Ocker, Sioux City East; Andy Vanfossan, Underwood.
100-Win Club
James Larsen, CB Abraham Lincoln.
Service Awards
30 years: John
Waddle, Coon Rapids-Bayard.
20 years: Steve Daeges, Harlan; Andy Vanfossan, Underwood.
Umpire of the year
Northwest District: Dan Pomeroy, Coon Rapids.
Umpire newcomer of the year
Kevin Blunt, Stanton (1 of 4).
District Diamond of the year
West District: Treynor

Contact us
Fax: 402-444-1238
Mail: 1314 Douglas St., Suite 700, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone: 800-284-6397 or 402-444-1055

About Kevin White

Kevin White is a staff writer for The Omaha World-Herald and covers western Iowa high school sports. You can follow Kevin on Twitter (@KWhiteOWH) or e-mail him at